Chuppah and Meadow

Finished Chuppah

Boom. Chuppah done. I finished it over the weekend and the brides think it’s great. (I think it’s great too.) I actually went with a more streamlined version of my original plan, which was to quilt through the middle, but I think that step is unnecessary, and will make turning it into a quilt more difficult. The HST blockss shed a lot of loose threads putting the top together, so I’d like to try not to manipulate this top very much until it can be sandwiched and quilted as a quilt.

Chuppah loop

The chuppah has loops at each corner for attachment to the chuppah poles during the ceremony; I sewed them firmly but you never know. It seemed to do OK hanging on the fence like this, but I’m not sure what will happen if there’s a stiff breeze on the day. I’m sure it will be fine!

Finished Chuppah

I don’t think I’ll use the technique of chain piecing the rows together and leaving them connected as the quilt grows and then sew the whole thing together. It made ironing and sewing the rows together very fiddly, and I still had to trim the threads in order to iron open the seams. So – a good experiment, and I’m glad I tried the technique, but going forward, I’ll put tops together my usual way.

In other news, my Rainbow Meadow is coming out of hibernation. All the pieces are cut and organized and ready to sew and now I’m sewing. The blocks are a bit fiddly, what with the curves and ironing them a certain way, but the end result is making me very, very happy.

Meadow Block
Linking from Instagram because I’m lazy.

Oh and hey! It is Wednesday, so I’m linking up with WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced!

12 thoughts on “Chuppah and Meadow

  1. That chuppah is stunning!!! I love it! Good to know about the thread-chain piecing method, too! I recently heard about it and plan to use it to piece a simple value-focused HST quilt top. I probably will still give it a go, but I won’t be disappointed if I don’t love it.

    • I liked it as a method to keep all my rows organized (and I could see if I was matching two of the same colors together) but it wasn’t as easy when it came to sew the whole top together. But perhaps you’ll have a different experience – especially if you iron your seams to one side instead of open!

  2. Pingback: More Chuppah and Meadow | Lucymade

Leave a Reply

