Work in Progress

I’ve been thinking a lot about my work lately, both my 9-5 job and the time I spend making things out of yarn and fabric. I would love to have a job that would allow me to to use my time and energy more creatively but I’m not sure how to get there. This has been an ongoing discussion between me and my husband for the past few months and I don’t yet have any firm plans on how to scratch this itch.

When I get blue about my voice as a maker or when I doubt my ideas or skills, or when I fear that I’ll spend all my days staring at spreadsheets in a cubicle, I have to remind myself that I’m comparing my beginning with someone else’s middle. I’m working and I’m in progress.

Quilting Metro Rings is coming along, still. I feel like I’ll be saying that for a while yet, but I really want to finish it by the end of the month. And in the meantime, I wanted to start something new, so pulled the following fabrics for a Metro Medallion quilt.

Happy fabric pull

A good half of those are personal favorites. There’s some Tula, some AMH, some Rashida, Melody Miller arrows, Patty Young bumblebees, and Lizzy House stars. And then I needed an extra magenta and had to seriously give myself a pep talk to pull my one precious Mendocino fat quarter. But good, lovely fabric is mean to be turned into something good and lovely, wouldn’t you agree?


This introspective WIP Wednesday post is being linked up with Freshly Pieced! Boom!

5 thoughts on “Work in Progress

  1. I know exactly what you mean .. How to juggle working to earn money, to buy the crafy things you need to scratch that itch we all have? And how do you juggle housework / kids / family etc and still have enough time to craft pieces .. Ahh I have the exact same struggle!!

  2. I had that conversation for years with my husband, too. I am still not sure what comes next, but it is nice to be able to talk with someone about it and discuss different options. I really like your fabric pull – gorgeous!

  3. Oh wow…you pretty much wrote exactly what I’ve discussed with my husband and something I struggle with constantly. Working at a dull desk job really gets old but when I think about my hobbies and the things I love, creating a job doing just those things would be tough. I laugh and say I’d love to live my life as a “creative being”. that’s all….just creating things!

  4. I am the same as you. I wish I could give up my day job and SEW but I can’t see making it happen… Definitely not as a single person with a mortgage in Australia… What I need to do is find a more creative job – not as creative as quilting but one that pays without repressing all that creativity… Good luck on your search.

Leave a Reply

