Metro Rings Mockup

Here’s a little carpet design floor mockup of what the Metro Rings quilt I’m working on will look like. None of the pieces are completely sewn and ironed and the grey will only be on the very outside quilt blocks, but I think it is going to be really nice when finished!

Double Wedding Ring mockup

My grey blocks are a little bit wavy, even after a hearty pressing. When I saw on Instagram that Shanna (@fiberofallsorts) is also making a Metro Rings, I asked if her blocks were coming out wavy as well.  She provided some advice, and Jessica (@mugirl133) and Peggy (<a href="http://instagram.com/colourdujour” target=”_blank”>@colourdujour) weighed in as well.  It seems that I’ve been pulling the fabric too roughly, which warps the seams a bit.  My background fabric (Pat Bravo Pure Elements) has a lovely hand and drape, but it is a bit lighter weight than the ring segment fabric (Botanics).  I’ve been trying to sew more slowly and ease the curves into position instead of ladyhandling the fabric and the blocks are seeming to lie flatter.  Luckily I still had the majority of blocks to sew.  Thanks ladies for your advice!

Linking up with WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced!

7 thoughts on “Metro Rings Mockup

  1. My last quilt was metro rings, the curves are a little tricky. Even thought it says you don’t have to pin in the video tutorial I pinned one pin in the middle. It does make a beautiful quilt, cant wait to see it complete

  2. I love Art Gallery but do find the lovely tight weave does not always play well with others. QCR is my go to ruler when I want to play and this pattern is on my bucket list – although, she keeps coming up with new ones that pull me in too. Good luck with the gentle touch – isn’t it great to get advise on IG?

Leave a Reply

