A Fortunate Granny Finish!

Fortunate Granny is finally finished! I begun these blocks last August, the top in October, and finally got around to quilting this month.

Fortunate Granny

I incorporated the extra 2.5″ squares left over from making the blocks into the back.

Fortunate Granny Back

I’m really proud of the quilting on this one. This is the first time I’ve quilted a quilt entirely in a pattern other than FMQ stipple, and the flowers came out really nicely. The quilt is bound with more of the backing fabric.

Fortunate Granny binding

The color difference between the whites (Bella for the blocks, Kona for the sashing) isn’t as noticeable in person; it doesn’t bother me much in any case.

I feel like I’ve been on Beast Mode with finishing quilts lately. Let’s see if the momentum carries further! Fortunate Granny is my May goal for A Lovely Year of Finishes and one of my Q2 Finish Along goals. Hooray!

Fortunate Granny
Size: 53.5″ x 65″
Fabric: Good Fortune by Kate Spain, Kona White, Bella White
Tutorials used: Granny Square Quilt Block from Blue Elephant Stitches, Setting Triangles for Granny Squares from Traceyjay Quilts

11 thoughts on “A Fortunate Granny Finish!

  1. Good job on getting it quilted! That’s always the hardest part for me. I kinda like the 2-toned white. Adds to the look of the blocks – like a crocheted granny’s square.

  2. great finish, well done! the quilt is beautiful, I love granny squares. I also love the back – that could be a modern quilt in itself!

  3. This is very pretty! I love the way you used your leftovers on the back. It always makes me feel so accomplished to do that!

  4. Pingback: A Lovely 2014 in Review | Lucymade

Leave a Reply

