Crepe Dress

Remember how I mentioned that was getting together with old friends for a sewing day to sew the Colette Crepe dress? Well, the dress is finished and I wore it out to the theater last weekend!

Crepe dress

I met at Anna‘s early a couple of Saturdays ago, and before long, there were three sewing machines humming and fabric and patterns spread across the apartment. I opted to fit a muslin before cutting into my main fabric, which was wise, as the shoulders had to be taken down by about an inch.

The main fabric is Wish cotton voile by Valori Wells in the print Treasure and the contrast is FreeSpirit cotton voile in Red, both of which I purchased from bargains4sewists on eBay. I’m not being paid or reimbursed in any way to say this but seriously: bargains.

Crepe dress

The dress is interlined with cotton lawn, which gave the garment a nice weight, while still allowing the voile to be flowy. I followed Gertie’s Crepe Sew-Along. The pattern directions are very clear, but at times I needed an extra tutorial or visual on how to proceed. The armhole facings and hand finishing work were especially fiddly, and I’m glad that Gertie provided some videos.

Crepe dress

I like the details of this dress a lot, especially the wrap and the pockets. At the same time, I’m still not convinced that it is the most flattering dress on me – something seems a bit off with the little cap sleeves and the neckline does gape when I sit down, but it is done and wearable!

2 thoughts on “Crepe Dress

Leave a Reply

