Is Requilting Feasibile?

This is the first quilt I ever made, Foxes out my Window.

Foxes out my Window

I started cutting on Thanksgiving Day, 2011. The pattern is Kitchen Window from Elizabeth Hartman’s Practical Guide to Patchwork, which is a truly useful reference. The fabric is mostly Lizzy House: Outfoxed in the green colorway, a banner print from Castle Peeps, teal stars from 1001 Peeps, and another green/yellow dot – maybe Robert Kaufman Ta Dot? I don’t remember. It’s backed with two great whacks of Outfoxed triangles and frolicking foxes. To date, the fabric is some of my favorite I’ve ever used and it makes me happy whenever I see it.

What doesn’t make me happy is its quilting. I quilted it on my home machine (see here for more info) and while at the time, I was thrilled with the results, it never was perfect. Daphne, my old Kenmore, had some major tension issues. The top thread was too loose, the bobbin thread too tight, which caused the back of the quilt to look like this:

Pulled thread

Not that bad, right?

Pulled thread

Ooh yeah, that’s not good.

Snarled thread

Yikes!

I’m ashamed to admit that the whole back looks like that. Snarls, pulls, places where the thread broke. It’s rough and ugly and definitely lowers the quality of the finished product.

But now that I have a shiny new Juki on my sewing table. Now, I haven’t yet quilted on this machine, and I’m not going to start with this project, but I see all the lovely quilting out there people do on this machine, so I know what it is capable of. My plan is to soak the quilt, let it dry flat (ish), iron it, and then unpick the quilting in a 2′ square area and re-quilt. I’m not going to remove the binding, because perhaps I’m foolhardy.

Before I dive in, does anyone has any experience doing this? Do you have any advice? If this method works, there are a couple other quilts out there that I’d like to requilt with this method. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

3 thoughts on “Is Requilting Feasibile?

  1. I have no experience with this but it looks like it won’t be too hard to unpick the current quilting. I think I wouldn’t unpick the whole quilt at once since you don’t want to undo the binding and you don’t want to risk the top and back shifting during the requilting which could create folds or puckers. Perhaps it would help to also secure the two layers with safety pins while unpicking so that it all stays together nicely?
    I can totally understand why you want to redo it!

  2. Pingback: Two Foxy WIPs | Lucymade

Leave a Reply

