First WIP Wednesday of 2014!

Oh hello, first WIP Wednesday of the new year! I’m looking forward to busting through some WIPs this year, now that I am sewing on this:

20140108-153939.jpg

My very clever husband suggested a new sewing machine for Christmas, which I thought was a brilliant idea. My new Juki TL-2010Q sews like a dream, and I whipped out a throw-sized top from all those Constellations triangles I cut! I don’t have a whole photo of this finished top yet, but here’s a glimpse.

Constellations quilt top

I also finished all the blocks for the 2013 Sugar Block. Here’s November, sewn on my old Kenmore:

Sugar Block: November

And December, sewn on the new machine:

Sugar Block: December

I’m still not exactly precise when paper piecing, but that will come with time. I’m planning on sewing a few more blocks for this quilt, mostly from Vintage Quilt Revival – it is such a great reference! But before that, I have three quilts ready for basting and quilting, hopefully starting tomorrow! I’m hoping that 2014 shapes up to be a productive year and I hope it is for you as well!

As usual, I’m linking up with WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced!

11 thoughts on “First WIP Wednesday of 2014!

    • If you can sew a straight seam or pin the heck out of a curved seam, you can sew anything! That’s how I started – curtains and basic garments like PJ pants. You can do it!

    • I’m looking forward to getting a shot of the whole top. The tricky thing is it is a gift for my SIL and I’m not sure if she follows my blog!

Leave a Reply

