Fortunate Granny Top

Over the weekend, I finished all the granny square blocks for my Fortunate Granny quilt and last night, I sewed them all together!

Fortunate Granny top

Right now, the top has 4 x 5 9.25″ blocks with 2.5″ sashing between them. If my math is correct, its dimensions are about 41″ x 51″ which isn’t quite large enough. I’m going to add a border of some sort – either 6-7″ of plain white, or use the remaining 2.5″ charm squares around the edges. Or use the remaining 2.5″ squares for the back, perhaps similar to the back of Kate Conklin’s Gathered In quilt.

Fortunate Granny top

If you’d like to make your own granny squares, these tutorials from Blue Elephant Stitches, Coopcrafts, and Traceyjay Quilts were really useful to me. I made the blocks out of Kate Spain’s Good Fortune charm squares, which really grew on me while making this. The white background and sashing is mostly Kona White, with a few blocks made from leftover Moda Bella White from Cuzco Crossing. All in all, love! I feel like I have a lot of momentum with this one and I’m excited about finishing the back and getting it quilted.

Linking up with WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced! What are you working on this week?
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

8 thoughts on “Fortunate Granny Top

  1. You’re ahead of me! My granny squares quilt has been languishing for a long, long time. Plan on getting it quilted this winter.

    Lovely job. Love the scrappiness of each block, but I like that you used the same line so it pulls together. Can’t wait to see the final product!

  2. Pingback: A Fortunate Granny Finish! | Lucymade

Leave a Reply

