Poseidon Progress

Last week, I banged out two more Sugar Blocks for my Quilt of Poseidon. First up: August.

Sugar Block: August

I had an issue with sewing those HSTs to the small solid squares in the wrong direction. Other than that, this was straightforward to put together.

Next up: A modified Come Fly With Me block for September.

Sugar Block: September

So here’s some backstory. Last month, I was having some concerns about this quilt not looking cohesive. At that point, Each block used 2 or 3 colors of the Kona bundle + a pop of pink, yellow, or purple. I hadn’t duplicated any colors in the bundle yet, and things just looked… disjointed. So I made an Arkansas Traveler from 4 already used shades (and no pop colors), and that made things feel more cohesive. And then I saw this block and knew that instead of the propeller look suggested by the pattern, I would make a granny square similar, but bigger, than the ones I’m making for my Fortunate Granny quilt.

This quick mosaic shows that it is coming together.

Quilt of Poseidon Mosaic

1. Arkansas Traveler Block, 2. Sugar Block: July, 3. Sugar Block: March, 4. Sugar Block: April, 5. Sugar Block: February, 6. Sugar Block: May, 7. Sugar Block: June, 8. Sugar Block: January, 9. Sugar Block: September, 10. Sugar Block: August, 11. The Sugar Block Club

Right? The yellow and pink aren’t too bright and distracting, right? The final quilt is going to be huuuuge – I’m aiming for final dimensions of 90 x 90 (5 x 5 12″ blocks plus sashing and borders) so I think the whole thing will look good together, I hope.

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Linking up with WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced!

4 thoughts on “Poseidon Progress

Leave a Reply

