Cuzco Crossing is Finished!

Cuzco Crossing is finished! For the last week or two, it has been sitting on the back of my chair, taped and ready to be finished. All last week, I would tell myself hat I should just quilt two lines a night to finally finish and then I’d get home and look at my knitting and find it preferable to wrangling the quilt through my machine. But on Friday, I put on Cars and sat down and finished in one go! And it was great!

Cuzco Crossing Finished

Not pictured: the neighbor’s dog barking at me through the (much more rickety in person) fence and assorted condo tenants wondering what the heck I’m doing pinning a quilt to a fence.

Cuzco Crossing

You know, these two pictures really show the difference between the Moda Bella White charms I used for the puzzle blocks and the Kona White I used for the other white bits. The actual contrast in the actual quilt isn’t that noticeable.

Cuzco Crossing: Yankee Puzzle Block

The back is really, really simple. I got some yardage of the Sanctuary print in Patina and cut it the length of the quilt. I sewed on some yellow fabric I got at Joann’s back in 2007, trimmed it down to quilt width, and called it good. Because really, once I get to the back, I usually just want to be done. The binding is more of the yellow Joann fabric, sewn on while C drafted his fantasy football team. He made me promise not to talk to him or hum while he was drafting, because drafting is Very Serious Business.

Backing of Cuzco Crossing

The finished dimensions are 68″ by 57.5″ and I love it. Straight-line quilting on my home machine took a very long time, but the results are much nicer than free-motion quilting on my machine (but not quite as nice as FMQ at the longarm studio).

2 thoughts on “Cuzco Crossing is Finished!

  1. Very nice! Such a happy, clean quilt. The lengths we will go to for a great finished-quilt shot! I don’t even care what people think anymore. I tell myself I am a quilting evangelist. My hubs is drafting (and doing that man-sigh thing they do when things go wrong) right now, and I am reading blogs and watching Grey’s. Not an awful deal. :)

  2. Pingback: Fortunate Granny Top | Lucymade

Leave a Reply

