Another Sugar Block and Some Bread

I finished another sweet Sugar Block over the past few days! This one is called Sunny Days, which is an entirely appropriate title for both the block and the weather we had last weekend (but not today; today was remarkably foggy and grey). Anyway, the block!

April Sugar Block

My husband looked when he got home this morning, muzzy and goofy from working a full and very busy night, and said something about how he liked how balanced it was, how the yellow triangles direct and point the eye to the center of the block, and I thought something about how the points aren’t anywhere near matching up. But it is bright and cheery and I’ve started in on the March block, so that is forward motion.

Last weekend, husband, friend Aimee and I went to visit Emily (of Relishments fame) and her husband Brian in the Berkshires. It was a lovely weekend, full of board games and good food and lovely green rolling hills. We made Fig, Olive Oil, and Sea Salt Challah (Emily’s post) from Smitten Kitchen (recipe).  It was delicious, made the house smell like Fig Newtons, and got gobbled up rather quickly.  I’ve been thinking about challah (holla!) and combinations thereof since then.  Husband, in the car on the way home, had the idea to smear Nutella in the challah logs, instead of fruit, and I had to give it a try last night.

Nutella Challah

Nutella challah, sliced

The result?  Sadly disappointing. Don’t get me wrong, the texture and flavor of the bread is fantastic, and there’s a lovely magic about yeast doughs and the braiding thereof. But the Nutella got gritty and lost some of its flavor while cooking. Something about tempering chocolate and chemistry? Oh well, it is still pretty good, probably better when toasted and consumed with butter. But then again, what isn’t?

Linking up with WIP Wednesday!
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

4 thoughts on “Another Sugar Block and Some Bread

  1. Lucy, lovely sugar block. AND that bread?! When I first looked through the SK book that was one of the recipes I bookmarked (I used to bake all of our bread, and Deb’s recipes were some of my favorites). I bought some fresh figs today but of course the recipe calls for dried facepalm. Guess fig clafouti or something is in my future, I have 2 lbs!!

  2. So glad you were able to visit this weekend. Such a fun time!
    Thanks for trying out Nutella…it seems like a great idea, but I’m glad I won’t have to make the same mistake. I think I’m going to attempt blueberry, using dried blueberries, when my parents visit in August. Or something else sooner.

Leave a Reply

