Stripey Pillows

Last spring, my mom bought some new furniture for her three season porch and requested some bright pillows. I made two big paper-pieced bird pillows for her last year (here and here) but the smaller oblong pillows languished in my closet bin. I wanted them to be scrappy to match the scrappy borders on the first block, use greens and blues with a bit of red, but I didn’t have much of a plan beyond that.

Then this spring, Laurie Wisbrun announced her latest holiday fabric collection, Holiday Sweet Tweets. My mom loves cardinals, and I immediately thought of her when I saw the cardinal stripe print. So there are my pillow backs!

Holiday Sweet Tweets

Once that piece fell into place, I got thinking and Pinterest browsing for front inspiration. I knew I wanted to finish them soon, because it is summer, the season of sitting out on the porch. A week ago, I saw these pillows by Glamscience Glittergoods on Pinterest and was inspired to make something similar. I sketched out a design, cut templates, and picked scraps out of my stash on Saturday (“the computer room exploded in fabric,” was my husband’s only comment). By Sunday morning, I had three cute foundation-pieced squares.

Stripey scrap blocks

Last night, something shifted in the atmosphere and all the humid soup that has been hanging over New England blew out and was replaced by delightfully cool, dry air. And I got to sewing everything together. Here’s the first pillow front, finished but not trimmed.

Stripey Pillow 1

I finished the pieced block of the second pillow and all that is left is to sew white sashing on the top and bottom.

Stripey Pillow 2

Here’s hoping I can finish these within the next few days! As usual, linking up with WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced!

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

8 thoughts on “Stripey Pillows

  1. I love how framing the scraps makes them look like an abstract picture. I can nearly see a landscape in each of the three side-by-side framed “pictures”.

    The pillows from last year look great, too.

Leave a Reply

