Cuzco Crossing

Over the past couple of weekends and a few weeknights, two charm packs of Kate Spain’s Cuzco line have started to become the front of Charm Crossing by Tammie Schaffer for Moda Bake Shop. I pinned this quilt ages ago but just got working on it a few weeks ago on starting-and-cutting things spree.

Getting ready to cut some Cuzco!

I love all the peacock motifs in Cuzco and the color palette is one of my favorites.

Charm Crossing Hourglasses

The hourglass blocks came together really quickly, with the use of a Quilter’s Quick Quarter ruler. No, before this project, I didn’t know such a thing existed. Yes, I spent probably 40 minutes googling “quilting 1/4 inch ruler with center slot” and things like that to try to figure out what this thing was from the picture in the pattern.

Charm Crossing top near completion

I sewed the Yankee Puzzle blocks during a Top Gear marathon a couple weeks ago. Last weekend, I laid them out, sewed them into rows, and then sewed the rows into the top!

Finished Cuzco Crossing top

I noticed that the whites I used (Bella white for the hourglasses and Kona white for the sashing and edges) are  different. Bella is a little more yellow than Kona.  It doesn’t bother me and I think that once it is quilted and crinkly, it will be fine. I have the back and the quilting planned out and soon this will be a FO instead of a WIP!

This is my first time linking up with WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced.

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Don’t forget, there’s still time to enter my 100th post giveaway! I’ll draw a name on Saturday night, around 7:00 EST!

7 thoughts on “Cuzco Crossing

  1. Very bright and crisp! I tried to do hourglass blocks once and gave up, they are harder than they look. But I didn’t think to buy a ruler. I have always bought Kona except for ONE TIME when I got desperate and bought Moda Bella White and it’s bitten me in the rear every time I try to use white scraps out of my scrap bag. But from your pictures, I don’t think it’s really noticeable in your top.

    • Thanks Laura! The ruler really did help – I’m not very precise yet, and that made things go so much smoother.

Leave a Reply

