To Boston With Love

When I read about the “To Boston With Love” project hosted by the Vancouver Modern Quilt Guild, I knew I wanted to participate. Quilters and sewists from all over the world are making 6″x8″ flags that bear messages of hope and love to the city of Boston. They will be displayed in the Shapiro Courtyard at the MFA (home of my favorite Chihuly giant green glass spike) from May 23rd to June 16th.

To Boston with Love flag

The design was inspired by a print by One Heart Boston. This was my first experience with applique, and I dove in without really planning much out. I sketched out a design in my notebook and traced shapes directly onto fusible interface from the sketch. Then I picked colors (I wish I had a darker grey for the bridge, but I used what Kona solids I had on hand), ironed, sewed the edges, and then added details like the Prudential’s spire and the cabling on the Zakim.

To Boston with Love flag back

The back is simple, bright stripes of fabric from Lizzy House and Laurie Wisbrun, and a little love note to my city. I really like how it turned out and glad that I could participate in a small way. I’m so proud of my city and my crafty people and I’m looking forward to seeing all the flags at the MFA!

Leave a Reply

