The Third Day of Christmas Music: Casper and the Cookies

November of 2007 wasn’t the happiest of all times in my life. I was in the middle of the first semester of grad school, I was tremendously lonely, my program was very difficult, and on top of everything, squirrels ate my car (true story!).

And then on November 28th, You Ain’t No Picasso posted a song by Casper and the Cookies called Kiss Me Beneath the Christmas Tree. And the song made me so happy! I loved how catchy it was, the stompy drumbeat, the slightly sketchy lyrics, how it seems to tapand most of all, the awesome key change near the end. And while that year continued to be difficult, having a loud and aggressively happy Christmas anthem to rock out to whilst studying made things a little bit more fun. To this day, it is one of my favorite holiday songs and yes, I do start listening to it in November!

Grad School Lucy decorating the house tree, 2007

Leave a Reply

