Happy Handclappy

20120628-161808.jpg

Last week was really and truly hot in these parts. And my apt holds heat. I’d get home from work and everything – floor, bookshelves, walls, stuff lying about – would be warm to the touch. So I’d change into a tank top and pile my hair on top of my head and lay on the floor drinking ice water. And in this kind of weather, I find it sometimes hard to craft because there are rivulets of sweat running down my neck and my fingers are sticky. So I cut fabric instead. The above nice pile is the beginnings of an On a Whim quilt and I’m super excited about it.

I was on the phone the phone the other night with my friend Z, listing all the things that made me happy, because really, right now in my life there’s a lot of happy. Z is a friend I’ve met through blogging way back in the dark ages of the internet (read: high school) and as only children, we sort of adopted each other. He’s been around through a lot of angst and tooth gnashing, so it was happy to be able to share the happy with him. I’ve been listening to this Imagine Dragons song and it’s so happy and handclappy and panflutey – Sarah, give it a listen! I enjoyed the planets last week, thanks for sharing that. This song is good on repeat in my cubicle, good to shlep boxes to, just generally good.

And I know it’s hard when you’re falling down
And it’s a long way up when you hit the ground
Get up now.
– from On Top of the World by Imagine Dragons

2 thoughts on “Happy Handclappy

Leave a Reply

