Fraternal

When I first plunged into quilting, I got a couple sets of fat quarters, my fabric stash being scraps from aprons I made for my friends back in grad school. One set became Foxes Out My Window. Another became Rectangle Squared. And the third, Echo by Lotta Jansdotter, languished in the box in which it was delivered.

I wanted to make something that showed off the large-scale prints and I also wanted something relatively simple. I considered a strip quilt (like this one), but wanted something with a bit more oomph. I considered Elizabeth Hartman’s New Wave pattern (seen here) but I wanted something simpler.

Then I saw this quilt, made by Film in the Fridge from Ink & Spindle fabrics and let it inspire me.

20120413-150341.jpg

Inspire me to do some math, that is.  I only had so much fabric and I wanted it to be just so, so I got out my notebooks.  The spiral bound has the basic sketches, ideas, and how I would cut the fat quarters.  The second has the actual stripes graphed out.  The notebook itself is pretty neat – somebody from my company’s Munich office must have brought it as a gift because in addition to being nice, hardback, and filled with graph paper, the instructions or promotional material is in German.  They were just going to throw it out until I claimed it.

Anyway.

20120413-150352.jpg

I made plans one night and cut fabric the next. Between cutting off selvages and a slight miscalculation on some seam allowances, it was a little tight to get the right size pieces from some FQs, but we made it.

20120413-150016.jpg

Piecing was a breeze, and soon I had a nearly-finished quilt top.

20120413-150036.jpg

I’m waiting for a bit more Kona Ash to finish up the sashing (not shown) and then this one will be done.

But!  you say.  The title of this post is Fraternal.  What do you mean by that?

O Keen-eyed Reader, I am making two quilt tops.  One uses the blue, teal, and yellow Echo prints while the other uses  pinks, purples, and browns.  I’m using the same pattern and placement of strips but they will be warm and cool fraternal twins when I am done.

2 thoughts on “Fraternal

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on Boston and Spring Stripes Quilt | Lucymade

Leave a Reply

