Rectangle Squared

Rectangle Squared has been in the works for a while. I cut the pieces while watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade, finished the top in January, finished the back shortly after, sandwiched and began quilting. It was right about at this time that I realized that this is a Big Quilt, yo, and that the neck of my sewing machine is really small. And then I made another quilt (Chevrons) and Rectangle Squared ended up languishing on top of my couch for a while.

Last week, I decided that Enough was Enough. Also, the knowledge that I’d be seeing the recipient in the near future and that I have only so much time to finish quilting, bind, and wash before that happens spurred me onwards.

20120402-100851.jpg

I got the quilting done during a Big Bang Theory marathon after work last week and the binding was finished by Saturday afternoon.
Rectangle Squared

Rectangle Squared

The back is relatively simple – I alternated blocks of sailboats with blocks of garden gnomes.

The back of Rectangle Squared

All that’s left is to wash and gift it!

Specs
Pattern: Rectangle Squared by Film in the Fridge
Fabric: Treasures & Tidbits by Piece O’ Cake Designs for Robert Kaufman Fabric, purchased at Fat Quarter Shop along with Anchors Away by Dear Stella Fabrics and Lightning Bugs and Other Mysteries by Heather Ross for Free Spirit on the back, sashed with Kona white and blue for binding.
Dimensions: 90 blocks, 72x76ish

4 thoughts on “Rectangle Squared

Leave a Reply

