Status Update

Have you heard that spring is here? Seriously, last week was All Kinds of lovely. And between the lovely outdoors and the corresponding lack of time at my sewing machine/knitting needles because it was far too lovely to be inside, I don’t have much to show you, because I spent a disproportionate amount of time last week doing this:

20120326-142234.jpg

When it is warm and sunny in the evening, it is one of my favorite things to sit out on my back deck after work and read and watch the sun go down. I just started Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma, which is fascinating and engrossing – especially as I was wolfing down dinner while I was reading.

Also, I picked out fabric for a couple new quilts.

20120326-142241.jpg

These fat quarters from Lotta Jansdotter’s lovely Echo line and I’d like to use them in a way that shows off the bold graphic prints. I’m thinking of a strip quilt sort of like this one by Ashley or this one by Catherine.

It was my birthday last weekend, so I bought Laurie Wisbrun‘s Llook! Llamas! fabric because I couldn’t resist. I love it so much. My one small, small disappointment is that I had hoped for a full row of the llama with glasses – his feet were kind of chopped off – but I’ll figure out a way to incorporate his charming self into whatever I make.

20120326-142246.jpg

On the needles is a simple, simple plain vanilla sock, made extraordinary by the yarn (String Theory Colorworks Continuum Self Striping, sent to me in trade for some yarn leftovers).

20120326-142250.jpg

I’m also attempting to patch up a pair of well-loved socks I knit a couple years ago for my boss in Oklahoma. So far, I’ve replaced the toes and perhaps tonight is the night I begin darning. Oh darn!

20120326-142334.jpg

Leave a Reply

