Shiny and Bright

I always feel like this time of year has a lot of possibility. It’s like a new skein of yarn or a new cut of fabric – anything could be done with it.  Freshly fallen snow without any footprints.  A new calendar, a hope for the coming year to be bright.

The lights on Comm Ave, Boston on New Year's Day

I haven’t made resolutions per se, but I do have some hopes and goals I’d like to work on this year.  I’d like to be more disciplined about working out and sleeping at regular hours (I’m a terrible night owl).

But I’m nearing completion on the Rectangle Squared quilt top.  The week after Christmas, I laid the fabric out on my kitchen floor (the only space big enough in my apartment to situate an entire quilt) and tried to make sure that squares of the same pattern weren’t next to each other. I also made sure that there is a red square in each corner.

Rectangle Squared

Unsewn Rectangle Squared blocks on my kitchen floor

Last weekend, I finished sewing the blocks into rows during an epic craft day at a friend’s.  This week, I’ve been focusing on sewing sashing to the strips and sewing strips together.  As of right now, it is half way done! My goal is to finish the top in the next couple of days.  And then begins the adventure of learning to free motion quilt!

Quilt: Rectangle Squared
Pattern by Film in the Fridge
Fabric is Treasures & Tidbits by Piece O’ Cake Designs, sashing is white Kona. 

2 thoughts on “Shiny and Bright

Leave a Reply

