In Process

When I get stressed, I tend to take up new hobbies. Quilting has been on my radar for a while now. I am inspired by a couple of modern quilters (Oh, Fransson! and Film in the Fridge, namely) but it wasn’t until work last month got crazy crazy that I took the plunge myself.

A few clicks later and I had a lovely bunch of fat quarters sailing their way to my little apartment. Then, several hours with my rotary cutter and mat produced the following:

Treasures & Tidbits by Piece O' Cake Designs for Robert Kaufman Fabric

Hello, first quilt!

A stack of squares all ready to be sewn. That’s tonight’s project. It is going to be Rectangle Squared when all’s said and done. But ssh – this one is going to be a giftie.

So far, so good. I really like how precise you can be with quilting. The little lines on the ruler really and truly can be lined up on with the cutting mat. Seams can be straight! Squares can be square! Most of my sewing in the past has been for garments. Costumes for high school plays were sewn on my Mother’s ancient 40-pound Singer. I may have been a Renaissance Faire geek at one point. But I think the number-one thing holding me back was that I could never fit the garments as precisely as I would have liked. But with quilting, I can line up the ruler for a piece of fabric that ends up being the dimensions I was hoping for. And this is very satisfying.

And then a funny thing happened:

Outfoxed by Lizzy House

Even more fabric!

Even more fabric got cut up – this time for me!

Wish me luck!

One thought on “In Process

  1. Pingback: Rectangle Squared | Lucymade

Leave a Reply

